HHBS- Session 2- 11.15 am- 17th February 2019

1. Which is your Rasi?

The earth rotates around its own axis 360 degrees. While doing so, the entire sky is covered. The band of the sky which visible directly above you through the 24 hours of one day and night is called the Rasi (Sanskrit/ Indian language) or the Zodiac (English). See figure (http://www.mahastro.com/know-what-is-rasi-zodiac-sign/)

There are 12 Rasis in this band each covering 30°.

The Table below provides the Sanskrit names of these.

Activity- What are the equivalent names in Telugu, Tamil and Malayalam?)

	Sanskrit	Period	Telugu	Tamil	Malayalam	Nearest English Zodiac sign
1	Mesha	Mid April- mid May				Taurus
2	Vrishabha	Mid May to mid June				Gemini
3	Mithuna	Mid June to mid July				Cancer
4	Karkata	Mid July to mid August				Leo
5	Simha	Mid August to mid September				Virgo
6	Kanya	Mid September to mid October				Libra
7	Tula	Mid October to mid November				Scorpio
8	Vrischika	Mid November to mid December				Sagittarius
9	Dhanu	Mid December to mid January				Capricorn
10	Makara	Mid January to mid February				Aquarius
11	Kumbh	Mid February to mid March				Pisces
12	Meena	Mid March to mid April				Aries

Note:

- The Rasi in which the Moon was when you were born is called your Janma Rasi.
- The Rasi in which the Sun was when you were born is called your Surya Rashi.
- The Indian astrology system is based on Rasi.

The 12 months listed form the Solar calendar. The Sun takes one month to move from one sign to another as seen from the Earth. **Example**: Between mid-February and mid- March the Sun transits Kumbh.

Each day/night is called a 'divasa'.

Activity 2- A) What is your Janma Rasi? B) What is Janma Rasi of your mother?

Activity 3: A) What is your Surya Rasi? B) What is the Surya Rasi of your father?

2. What then are Chaitra, Vaisakha etc which are also months as per the Hindu calendar?

The Hindu calendar followed by most of India is the lunar calendar based on phases of the moon. The new moon is called Amavasya and the full moon is called Poornima or Pournami. A full cycle of phase is from Amavasya to Poornima and the day before the next Amavasya is one lunar month. Accordingly there are twelve months in the lunar calendar. The Table below shows the 12 months.

#	Sanskrit	Telugu	Tamil	Malayalam	Period (largely)
1	Vaisakha				April- May
2	Jyeshta				May- June
3	Ashada				June- July
4	Shraavana				July- August
5	Bhadra				August- September
6	Ashwina				September- October
7	Kartika				October- November
8	Margasirsa				November- December
9	Pausha				December- January
10	Magha				January- February
11	Phalguna				February- March
12	Chaitra				March- April

Activity 4: Fill in the blanks in the table above for your mother tongue.

Tithis and Pakshas: The 30 days in a lunar month are called tithis. The tithi is the time taken by the moon and the sun to be separated from each other by 12° . These 30 tithis are:

- Prathama, Dwithiya, Trithiya, Chathurthi, Panchami, Sashthi, Sapthami, Ashtami, Navami, Dashami, Ekadashi, Dwadashi, Trayodashi, Chaturdashi, Poornima. These 15 tithis together form are called Shukla Paksha or bright phase, when the moon is increasing in brightness.
- Prathama, Dwithiya, Trithiya, Chathurthi, Panchami, Sashthi, Sapthami, Ashtami, Navami, Dashami, Ekadashi, Dwadashi, Trayodashi, Chaturdashi, Amavasya. These 15 days are called Krishna Paksha or dark phase when the moon is decreasing in brightness.

Example: Lord Krishna was born on Ashtami day of Krishna Paksha in month Bhadra.